Why Join SNPhA?



Planning and implementing health awareness projects like Diabetes Awarenss, Operation Immunization, AIDS, Power to End Stroke, and many more.


Over 30 officer positions avaliable to enhance leadership skills.


Impact the community with this student-run organization with your ideas and your passion


Attend regional meetings and national conventions for leadership growth and a continual devotion to health care related issues and the community.



  • Offer student members the opportunity to develop leadership and professional skill.

  • Educate students about and promote active participation in national health care issues.

  • Develop the role of the minority health professional as a vital member of the health care team.

  • Develop within communities a positive image of minority health professionals.

  • Educate communities on better health practices and to increase their awareness and understanding of diseases.




  • SNPhA is an educational service association of pharmacy students who are concerned about the profession of pharmacy, healthcare issues, and the poor minority representation in these areas. The purpose of SNPhA is to plan, organize, coordinate and execute programs geared toward the improvement of the health, educational, and social environment of minority communities.





The Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) was founded in 1972 on the campus of Florida A & M University, when Sharon Roquemore (now Sharon Lovick Edwards) and John J. Scrivens organized that first meeting. In addition to the students from Florida A & M University, students from Howard University, Texas Southern University, Xavier University and other schools were at the meeting around a hundred participants were in attendance. Our many years of success are in part due to the outstanding leadership the association has had over the years. Mr. Clinton C. Cunningham was the first Executive Secretary; serving from 1972–1974. Mr. Ralph Arline (deceased) succeeded him from 1974–1979. It was in 1979 that SNPhA gained its first female leader, named Dr. Heidi Anderson. For ten years, she provided impeccable leadership bringing SNPhA into a new era. Continuing in Heidi’s footsteps, Dr. Marisa Smith (currently Dr. Marisa Lewis) took the helm in 1989 as Executive Director. After many years of leadership and guidance, Dr. Lewis in 2007 was elected as the president-elect on the National Pharmaceutical Association (NPhA) Board of Directors. Dr. Carmita A. Coleman took over the leadership and continues in that capacity today. Over the years, SNPhA has been blessed with several Assistant Executive Directors, who include Dr. Terri Smith-Moore, Dr. Monica Lahoz, and Dr. Patricia Lieveld.